Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the principal representative body in the faculty governance system of The University of Texas at Dallas. It consists of not less than twenty-three nor more than fifty-one voting members of the General Faculty, elected annually. It has primary responsibility in matters related to the curriculum and general academic policy, and it works closely with the administration in other areas of university life.

The Academic Senate is a representative body, formed from the General Faculty of The University of Texas at Dallas, in which faculty develop their concerns and proposals in exercising their major roles in faculty governance. The Academic Senate is aided in its work by the Academic Council, a smaller body formed from the Academic Senate which meets regularly with the President and Chief Academic Officer and by the Faculty Committees. As the regular primary faculty governance body, the Academic Senate is expected to coordinate faculty exercise of faculty governance responsibilities in the interests of academic excellence at The University of Texas at Dallas.


Speaker of the Faculty

Ravi Prakash (ECS)

  • 972-883-2289

Secretary of the Faculty

Bill Hefley (JSOM)

  • 972-883-5006

Vice Speakers of the Faculty

Shilyh Warren (AH)

  • 972-883-6316

Richard Scotch (EPPS)

  • 972-883-2922

Academic Governance Secretary

Rebecca Ernst

  • 972-883-6766

Senate Members

Members of the Academic Senate are selected each year by the voting members of the General Faculty. The Academic Senate normally meets the third Wednesday of every month.

Council Members

Each spring the new Senate elects no more than one-third of its members to serve on the Academic Council, which sets the agenda for the Senate. The Academic Council meets the first Wednesday of every month.


There are Committees reporting to the Academic Senate and University Wide Committees.

Senate Committees
University Wide Committees




Updated: February 8, 2021