

ERIK JONSSON SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING & COMPUTER SCIENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT DALLAS

UT Dallas Professors Receive Prestigious Awards in Washington DC and Berlin

September 5, 2012

Professor Latifur Khan and Professor Bhavani Thuraisingham received highly prestigious awards on the same day in Washington DC and in Berlin.



Khan received the IEEE ISI (Intelligence and Security Informatics) Technical Achievement Award for his pioneering research contributions to novel data mining techniques for security applications. This award was presented at the annual IEEE Intelligence and Security Informatics Conference in Washington DC on June 12, 2012. The award is presented jointly by the IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society and the IEEE Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society.

Khan has conducted research in data mining for over 10 years and has developed stream-based novel class detection techniques for a variety of applications including in text analysis, android malware detection and moving object data analysis. He has published in top tier venues including in IEEE International Conference on Data Mining and the European Conference on Machine Learning.

Thuraisingham received the Society for Design and Process Science (SDPS) 2012 Transformative Achievement Gold Medal for her interdisciplinary research on integrating computer sciences with social sciences. She received this award at the annual SDPS Conference in Berlin, Germany also on June 12, 2012.

Thuraisingham's work in cyber security began in 1985 and since then she has made significant research contributions including in multilevel secure data management, inference problem, secure information integration, and assured information sharing. Recently she has initiated several projects at The University of Texas at Dallas to apply economics, game theory and risk analysis



techniques to cyber security. She is the recipient of numerous other awards including the IEEE Computer Society's 1997 Technical Achievement Award, the ACM SIGSAC 2010 Outstanding Contributions Award and AFCEA (Armed Forces Communication and Electronics Association) 2011 Medal of Merit.

"We are proud that Dr. Khan and Dr. Thuraisingham have won these awards," said Dr. Gopal Gupta, Department Head of Computer Science and holder of the Erik Jonsson Chair. "Both are leading researchers in the field of cyber security who have established a well-funded group that is a power house of cyber security research work," he added.

For more information, contact Rhonda Walls at rhonda, walls@utdallas.edu or 972.883,2731.